Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater recently joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:

Martin (pronounced Mar-teen)

Age 10

wmartin9-13-06.jpg - 10174 Bytes

"Hi, my name is Martin. I'm in the fourth grade. I like my sister because she's funny. She makes me laugh when she pretends to be a mouse or a dog. She has a great smile, and she cares about people. We both like animals.

My favorite subject in school is reading. I don't like science class. I love to play with my friends outside, especially sports like soccer and baseball. We like to play catch, too. My friends like me because I'm a good friend and I'm good in sports. This year I did 88 at the Pacer Test. I moved up one level from last year. Nobody could catch up with me.

I like to listen to hip-hop and country music sometimes. I like hamburgers, fries, pizza, chicken and Mexican food.

I would like to have a mom and a dad that treat me nice and have a cool job. I'd like to be the oldest because I'm used to being in charge of Angela. I would like a family that goes to sports activities together, plays games and goes on walks. One of the things I hope to do some day is ride a motorcycle. Oh, yeah—I hope my family will let me have a dog or a cat."

People notice immediately that Martin's kind heart is his most endearing quality. He's known for his sensitivity towards others and willingness to share. His sister says, "He has lots of toys, and he lets me play with them." Look deeper and you'll find he's very eager to win praise.

Martin has made lots of academic progress in the past year. Sports achievements are just one link in a strong chain of improvements. His case worker also reports huge progress in self-management skills.

Martin's mild Attention Deficit with Hyperactivity (ADHD) hasn't gotten in the way of his learning. Though he doesn't presently require medication or an Individual Educational Plan, he would benefit from a parent who understands about using strengths to work through educational and emotional challenges.

wmartinangela9-13-06.jpg - 20877 Bytes

Martin has lost some of his ability to speak Spanish but hopes to regain it later in school or perhaps by practice with a bilingual parent. He would do well in an active family with lots of guidance and no more than 1-2 other children. A rural setting with lots of animals would be ideal for this kind-hearted boy who loves to help out; however, he would also thrive in a city setting with access to sports activities. Above all, Martin and Angela need an enduring family that will see their individual needs are met.

Angela (pronounced Ahn-hela)

Age 7

"I'm Angela and I'm 7 years old. I like my brother because he's nice and he plays with me. He makes me laugh.

I like apples, tacos and spaghetti. I like school and playing with my friends. My favorite period at school is lunch and my least favorite is Math.

I want a family where we are the only children. I need a mom and dad who spend time with me one-on-one. I hope they will have animals, maybe goats and dogs, but not cats. We could play with the animals and go horseback riding."

Angela is a joyful child. Her easy laughter comes often when she is around her brother, Martin. Their bond has supported them through a traumatic past and continues to light their world. She looks to her older brother for security and direction, but she is also developing her own circle of friends. The family that welcomes them into their hearts will definitely feel the warmth of their love.

wangela9-13-06.jpg - 10041 Bytes

Angela has many delays, currently being addressed through Developmental Disabilities Services. She receives Early Intervention to increase communication, motor, self-care, and speech abilities. Her adoption team hopes for a family that will build Angela's maximum ability for independence—coordinating services with teachers and speech, language, and occupational therapists and helping her socialize with her peers.

Martin and Angela maintain contact with their 13 year-old sister, who is developmentally disabled. Mediated visits, phone calls and letters would be beneficial to all three children.

Martin and Angela is available for adoption through the State of Oregon. For contact information, please contact Idaho CareLine at 1-800-926-2588.

Photos by Moffett

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544
Fax: 208-476-3407