Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:


Age: 12

"My name is Anastasia, but most people call me Ana. I love animals. They have always been very important in my life because they seem to sense when I'm sad or upset and come to comfort me. They accept people if they want to spend time with them or they are OK when you want to be left alone.

I might like to be a veterinarian someday. I'm also interested in becoming a scientist, like the kind that studies skin samples and cells and causes of disease. I'm also interested in fashion design. All of these things need a college education, and that's my goal after high school.

When I think of the things that are important in a family, I think of trust. It is life--your life depends upon it. It's important to have people trust you to be able to stay home alone and be safe; trust you to make good choices and to deserve privileges. And for parents, it's important, too. I hope my caseworker will find parents who deserve my trust. Not lying to me--being honest. That means they would keep me safe and they would not stay out all night and leave me alone or be drunk or smoke around me. Cause it really bothers me.

I would like a family that does things together like ride bikes and swimming and playing games. I'd like a home with pets and maybe let me choose a pet. I would probably go to the Humane Society and choose a dog that needs a home.

My favorite subjects in school are Math, Science and Art. I'm getting mostly good grades. Some As and Bs and only a few Cs. I've gotten a few low grades before, but I had to study harder and bump it back up. I struggle with reading, but I like to read. I like the Twilight series."

Ana's adoption caseworker tells us that Ana is working recently on maintaining healthy friendships and she is succeeding! She also has worked very hard and excelled in her individual educational plan (IEP) for Math. Ana displays an affinity for art--an interest that could be encouraged through art classes and opportunities to try various art mediums. She is also a good communicator. Her foster mom reports that she is very helpful and sweet within her present family.

The adoption team will be considering adoptive families with a completed home study and experience or knowledge of challenges children experience when they have come from hard places in their childhood. Safety and trust issues will be big in Ana's life, as will be parenting skills that help children heal emotionally. Ana would like a Christian family. She would like to stay connected to her maternal aunt and uncle. Parents must have access to professional and educational resources within their community.

Ana looks forward to a single parent or couple who will surround her with patient love and understanding and who can focus on ways to help her adjust to grief and loss. It would probably be best if she were the youngest or only child. She would do well with older siblings who are reliable role models. She may test boundaries, just as most teenagers do. If you are a parent that has been successful in setting and maintaining safe limits with children in your family or professional life, you may have the talents Ana needs. Call the Idaho CareLine and let them know about your completed home study today!

Portrait by Barb from Barb Bergeson Studio Gallery

To find out more about Ana, adoption or becoming a foster parent, email the Idaho CareLine (Please include your zip code and city.) or call 1-800-926-2588. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30512.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Fax: 208-476-4140