Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:

wmatthew7-18-07.jpg - 20669 Bytes


Age: 15

"Hello, my name is Matthew. I like to ride my bike, shoot hoops, play football...and sleep! My favorite thing to do is play with my dog, Chocoa (pronounced Chocko). She's a one-year-old lab/golden retriever mix. I love dogs because whether I'm sad or frustrated, they make me feel better. Chocoa listens to me and loves me no matter what. Right now, I can't be with her and that's hard. But I have a good friend taking care of her until Chocoa and I can both share a family. I live in a group home right now. After three months, I'm on the second highest level, and I'm going for the first.

"I need a family that's cool, calm and collected--one that gets along with each other, doesn't fight and has a sense of humor. It doesn't matter to me if it's a single mom or dad or a couple or whether or not they have other kids. I get along with just about anyone once I get to know them. I'm shy at first, especially in school. I don't talk at first and I let others approach me.

"I want someone I can look up to. I haven't had many male role models in my life, so it would be great if I had someone to teach me about life and set a good example. I like to do outdoor things like camping, water skiing and going on hikes. It's important to me that a parent be consistent in discipline and that they don't pick at me. If I'm upset, I like time to recuperate and then talk about it. I apologize if I know I've messed up.

wmatthew27-18-07.jpg - 20181 Bytes

"I like to eat healthy food, not a lot of junk food. I do like to fix biscuits and gravy--love it! Salads and fruits are good, too.

"I would like to be a surgeon some day. I get good grades in school and I have a pretty good memory, so that should help. Even though I don't want to live with my siblings, I would like to stay in touch with them. I could live in Idaho or out of state, as long as we could talk or see each other once in a while."

wmatthew47-18-07.jpg - 12248 Bytes

Matthew is a charming young man with an easy nature and a knack for conversation. His adoption social worker is very fond of him. She is sure to match Matthew's personality with an emotionally secure couple or single parent. If you are realistic about teens who test boundaries just to make sure they are flexible, but firmly in place, you could be the parent Matthew deserves. Among the independent living skills he will need for a secure future, integrity, honor and reliability head the list. Folks who can remain unconditionally committed to Matthew's future will enjoy watching him rise to the top of each new goal.

To find out more about Matthew, call the Idaho CareLine number, 1-800-926-2588. In Idaho you can dial 2-1-1. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30269.

Portraits by Ashki Photography

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544
Fax: 208-476-3407