Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:

wjohn3-14-07.jpg - 42360 Bytes


Age: 13

"My name is John. I'm nearly 14 years old. These are some of the things I want you to know about me. I really enjoy gardening. I grew my own vegetables and sunflowers last summer. I'm getting ready to start my seeds indoors this month. Some of the other outdoor activities I enjoy are skateboarding, riding snow machines, playing golf and bikeriding.

I've taken a bicycle repair class in school and I'm currently taking woodworking. I've made birdhouses, a wood basket, art frames and even some metal art work. I have a small coin collection that I hope to build on.

I like watching CSI, music videos on MTV, and movies. I also like to read whenever I can. I can sit down with a book and really imagine myself there.

I want to be a volcanologist and study volcanoes when I grow up. Science is my favorite subject at school. I'd love to take a trip to see a real live volcano someday. I'd also like to visit Craters of the Moon [in Idaho].

wjohn23-14-07.jpg - 31235 Bytes

I think it would be cool to have a family and to have someone to call mom and dad. I know that parents are sometimes hesitant to adopt a teenager because they worry about things like how they will be with their kids or how they act when they're angry. I would really like to have older brothers or sisters as mentors or be an only child. As far as handling anger, that's something I've worked hard at, and I've made a lot of progress. I think I'm ready for parents who will help me continue that progress.

Some things I'd like to do with my family are golfing, camping, fishing and riding off-road vehicles. I also enjoy going through museums."

A bright and inquisitive boy, John would do best with an active, "outdoorsy" family that knows the value of working and playing together. Caregivers at his group home say he is one of their favorite residents. He is always willing to do his share and sets a great example for others. They admire the way he is able to process feelings of anger or frustration, notice the triggers and choose acceptable ways of handling it.

John hopes for parents and mentors who will support him as he begins to believe in his future. He wants a family that will be there for him as he is learning life's lessons-a place where he can feel he belongs.

If you are an experienced parent who balances lots of structure with a calm, loving parenting style, your skills might be a great match for John's intelligence and curiosity.

John has a brother and a sister with whom he wants to maintain some contact (see Mary and Justin).

wjohn33-14-07.jpg - 23756 Bytes

To find out more about John, call the Idaho CareLine number, 1-800-926-2588. In Idaho you can dial 2-1-1. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30185.

Portraits by Moffett

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544
Fax: 208-476-3407