Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:



Age: 8

"Hi, my name is Grace. I like playing with my friends and riding horses. I LOVE horses! And snowmobiles and snowboards. In the summer I like to go to the waterpark or swim or play in the sprinkler. I don't like to do chores, but it helps when we get a reward when they're done, like going to a movie. I also like to play Wii and board games with my family.

I like fries and hamburgers. I LOVE green olives. I like Subway sandwiches, and...well, most food. I don't like onions or dill pickles.

I have a lot of stuffed animals. My polar bear is my favorite. I really like animals of all kinds; horses, dogs, cats, birds. I might like to be a veterinarian some day, but that's a long ways away. I know I would have to get straight A's and I would have to read a lot, which I don't like necessarily. I like math and recess and reading groups. My favorite teachers are funny and they like to play around and say things like "I'm going to bite you!" Having a sense of humor is important to me, because I like to laugh.

I don't like it when people hurt my feelings. Sometimes it's hard for me to take mean joking. When I get mad, it's better if people leave me alone. I try to do something like scream into a pillow or punch it.

I want a parent who will let me play with my friends. I would like to stay in touch with my friends, my sister, my other foster sisters and foster parents. I think I want to be adopted by a single mom or by a mom and dad. It doesn't matter where I live, like in the country or city, but I do like to ride horses and ride snowmobiles and bikes and things. I went to Hawai'i once and it was so much fun! I rode horses there and caught lizards."

If you listen to Grace's deep belly laugh you'll understand that it's her favorite thing to do and she feels it to her toes! Humor is something that helps her deal with anxiety, frustration and longing to be accepted. When Grace chuckles, her pretty blue eyes crinkle into half-moons that make everyone want to join in. She is ready to share that laughter with a single mom or couple who will make her feel that she has come home to stay.

Grace's adoption team is waiting to hear from families who have a current home study and experience around working with attention challenges, social skill building and helping kids deal with anxiety and frustration. The team is currently looking at Idaho only families, as Grace does have some family in Idaho she needs to stay in contact with. Grace would do best in a home where there are no younger children as she will need a lot of attention. If you understand how to access a variety of resources for pre-teens in your community, you may be a match for Grace's needs.

Although Grace is doing well in school, she needs a parent who will encourage and reward reading. She would do well with at least one parent who is skilled at setting safe, firm boundaries and being pleasantly consistent. If this is a close description of your parenting skills, call the Idaho CareLine and then fax your already-completed home study. Grace is eager to join an adoptive family in the not-too-distant future.

Portrait by Barb from Barb Bergeson Studio Gallery

To find out more about Grace, adoption or becoming a foster parent, email the Idaho CareLine or call 1-800-926-2588. In Idaho you can dial 2-1-1. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30438.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Lewiston 208-503-7107
Toll Free 1-866-376-9810
Fax: Toll Free 1-866-376-9810