Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:


Age: 12

"Here are some things families might like to know about me: I like to talk on the phone or go to my friend's house. I like to go walking and ride my bike. I also like to stay inside and watch TV. I love sleeping in on Saturdays because I get up before 6 a.m. on other days. I also have jobs-cleaning on Saturday, which I don't particularly like, but we have to do it.

I like hip-hop, pop and country music. I enjoy being in Choir at school and singing soprano. My least favorite subjects are Math and Social Studies. My favorite foods are apples and other fruits. I would like to have pets--cats or dogs. I might like to be a veterinarian some day.

I would like a family that would do things together like go places, play games, and do lots of activities. I would like a mom who would take me shopping, and a dad that could teach me sports and new things. I would like older siblings, but not younger than me.

When I'm a mom some day I will give my kids rules. They would have to do their homework before they do anything fun. That's something that didn't happen with me-I didn't do homework or turn in work. I need a mom and dad to take care of me, keep me safe, spend time with me, and have lots of fun. I would like a mom and a dad that love me…it would be nice to have a family forever even when I'm 20!"

Cayla has spent nearly three years in foster care and is ready for permanent family life. She needs positive role models who exercise patience, consistency, love, tolerance, and understanding. She needs an optimistic family that's committed to helping her achieve her full potential. An understanding of early childhood development would help her parents collaborate with Cayla on strengthening interpersonal relationships and be able to express rather than avoid feelings. Cayla would thrive in a home that is structured and can provide boundaries, yet is flexible enough to allow her room to make mistakes and learn from them. Her parents must be ready to show her how to clearly ask for what she needs, to find value in relationships rather than possessions, and to develop the talents and abilities she possesses in abundance.

Cayla has an older half sister and younger half brother, as well as a baby half sister-each with differing long-term living arrangements. Cayla's identity formation will be healthier within an adoptive home that supports some form of continued contact with her siblings and her birth mom. Cayla has been in two foster placements. In the first home, she and her brother were together. Cayla decided that she really wanted to be with her sister, and in April 2007 she was moved to her sister's foster home, where she remains today. Cayla has made great strides in her current placement, both in terms of socialization and behavior.

Being willing to participate in family counseling with Cayla during her transition into her new home would be a wonderful way for her adoptive folks to show their love and commitment to her. It would also demonstrate to her that they value using such community resources to help family members deal with past hurts and to grow and develop.

Portraits by Matt Green from Barb Bergeson Studio Gallery

Cayla is available for adoption through the State of Oregon. For contact information, email the Idaho CareLine or call 1-800-926-2588. In Idaho you can dial 2-1-1. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30381.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Lewiston 208-503-7107
Toll Free 1-866-376-9810
Fax: Toll Free 1-866-376-9810