Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:


Age: 15

One glance at Dakota will tell you a few things about him--from his cowboy boots and western-cut clothes to his black felt cowboy hat--he is country through and through! But there's so much more. This gentle young man is well mannered and often focused on others more than himself. He is looking forward to a family that will help him be the best that he can be throughout high school and beyond.

"The thing that I'd like families to know about me is that I'm an easy-going, relaxed guy most of the time. I'm a hard worker. I like being outdoors, digging, lifting, working in a garden. When the work is done, I'd love riding four wheelers and horses. I would really like to live with a family that works and plays together, maybe in the country or on a ranch. I'd like to go hunting and fishing and do outdoor things with them.

I'd like a family that's hardworking, outgoing and likes to get things done. I'd like a mom and dad that teach their children and show them new things. I could be an only child. I might also like older siblings who would take an interest in me and share what they know about staying out of trouble--their experience. I'd like a mom who is loving and caring and a dad who can teach me how to work, to be respectful--how to be a man.

I like animals of all kinds; dogs, cats, horses--I even like cows, even though they stink. I kind of like all the smells on a ranch.

Today was so great at Fast Lane. I loved everything about racing the cars...going fast! I'm definitely going back and I'm going to take a friend. Man, I would love working on those go-karts, doing all the maintenance and keeping them running! I would also like to learn how to work on farm equipment or on cars. It would be great to have a dad to show me those things.

I'm a freshman in high school. My favorite subject is history and I like science, too. I'm trying to get my grades up...sometimes when I get home, though; I just need a few minutes to unwind from school. Then I'm up for helping with work around the house or getting on my homework. I like school, even though some days there's a lot of drama."

According to Dakota's adoption worker, this young man is so easy to like! He has made progress in dealing with loss issues and the powerful emotions that go with them. Dakota is working on verbalizing feelings when things are bothering him.

Dakota's foster mom tells us he likes to be helpful and especially enjoys working with one-on-one guidance. He would do well with a compassionate parent who will celebrate progress along the path to his goals. Working through Dakota's many strengths, his humor, and setting clear boundaries are all ways a couple or single adoptive parent could provide the stability, love and family respect Dakota is waiting for.

If you are an active western family, possibly with older teens who want to be role models and friends to a younger brother, you could fulfill the dream of this laid-back country boy.

Portrait by Matt Green Photography

To find out more about Dakota, adoption or becoming a foster parent, email the Idaho CareLine (Please include your zip code and city.) or call 1-800-926-2588. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30502.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Fax: 208-476-4140