Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater joined the Wednesday's Child network a little more than a year ago to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:

wsiblings10-10-07.jpg - 23586 Bytes

Michael & Casey

Age: 12-15


Age: 15

"Hi, my name is Michael. I would like to find a single parent or couple that appreciates and works well with teenagers. I want to start over and have a better life. Sometimes it's difficult, but I work hard at not screwing up. I'm ready for a family.

My brother and I would like to live together. We haven't been together for 3 or 4 years. We'd like to get to know each other again. I want to be a role model for Casey. When he's having problems, I could talk to him and help him make good decisions. Casey can help me, too. When either of us gets upset, we can go on a walk and cool down; think things over and make the right decision.

Even though I have a mom, I'd like an adoptive or guardian mom or dad who I can stick with-someone who will be there for me when I'm a father. It doesn't matter if we live in Idaho or out of Idaho. As long as we can stay in touch with my mom, my twin brother, my sister and my paternal grandparents, we could be happy. It doesn't matter if we live in a family with older brothers and sisters. If it were just Casey and I, maybe we wouldn't have to try so hard to fit in.

wsiblings210-10-07.jpg - 16938 Bytes

My friends say I'm charismatic and I get along well with people. I guess that's true-I like hanging out with people. I also enjoy running, just for pleasure. I like getting out and seeing the country. Walking a dog or riding horses is fun for the same reason. Someday I would like to travel outside the United States; maybe to European countries like Germany or Russia. I enjoy hanging out with foreign exchange students at school and hearing about their country.

I like animals, especially dogs. I'd like to have a puppy, like a border collie, and train it. I would like to work with animals as a career, maybe as a zookeeper or a veterinarian."

According to Michael's adoption social worker, this likable young man responds well to a high level of structure and consistency. He's worked for a couple of years on being able to blend into the right kind of family. A good match might be an experienced foster parent or someone who has worked with youth whose lives have been challenged by neglect, abuse and attachment issues. Although Michael would like to be able to maintain contact with his mother and siblings, he is committed to a close adoptive relationship. Could you be that anchor for Michael and Casey?


Age: 12

wsiblings310-10-07.jpg - 16785 Bytes

"My name's Casey. I like to ride bikes and do stuff outside. I used to have a Next bike, but I don't have one anymore. I love shooting for target practice. It would be cool to have a family that shares that interest, like safe gun practice. I also like animals. I'd like to have a do of my own, maybe a Pit Bull or English Terrier. When you raise them right they're not mean.

I want to live with my brother, Michael. I don't know him very well because we haven't lived together for about 4 years. I'd like to have someone I can look up to and do things with. Michael is a good brother.

We both need a family that is fair. If there are other kids, they should be kids who don't pick on me. We need a single parent or two parents who care about us and will be there for us.

I remember when my dad took me to Baskin Robbins because I hit a target when we were doing practice shots. I liked that. I hope my parent(s) will do things like that. I hope they are people I admire, people who don't yell and argue, and people who care about kids."

An ideal situation for Casey, as well as Michael, would be placement with at least one stay-at-home parent and a family that enjoys doing a variety of activities together. An open adoption allowing supervised contact with their mother and siblings would be highly desirable.

Casey is an engaging boy. He has a good sense of humor, is bright and can exhibit good social skills. In the past, when Casey's life was more stable, he earned high grades in school. He would thrive in a family capable of giving him a great deal of attention. With commitment, opportunities for growth, patience and consistency, Casey could begin to believe in his own successful future. That's a gift that's especially needed in his life.

To find out more about Michael and Casey, call the Idaho CareLine number, 1-800-926-2588. In Idaho you can dial 2-1-1. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30282.

Photos by Kam Taylor Photography

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544
Fax: 208-476-3407