Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater recently joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:

wdereck21-3-07.jpg - 14465 Bytes


Age: 11

"Hi, I'm Dereck and I'm 11 years old. I like pizza, chocolate ice cream and chocolate cake. My favorite class in school is lunch. OK, my favorite classes are art, science and tutoring. I kind of like math but don't enjoy reading or writing. I like doing things at the Boys and Girls Club. I also like basketball, soccer, pool, foosball and air hockey.

My lifetime dream is to become a soldier. I'd also like to ride a horse, learn to skateboard and build electric things. For now, I'm hoping for a family that likes hunting, fishing, hiking, watching movies, playing cards and going places together like the zoo or aquarium. I'd like caring parents who let me do lots of stuff. When kids make mistakes, I think you should give them extra chores or ground them for breaking the rules--rules like homework first, no girls in the boy's room and no stealing.

I might like to be the oldest kid in my family because I could be an example to younger kids. I would like to have an iguana or snake for a pet. But if that's too scary for my family, I also like cats, dogs and birds."

Dereck's foster mom describes him as a sensitive boy who does very well within a positive reward system, especially when it involves food and quality time with mom or dad; like going out for a milkshake. She says Dereck is the youngest in his birth family, second to youngest in her family and wishes to be the oldest in his future family. More important than position would be parents who build his self-esteem and use humor in the right way. He may take it literally.

wdereck1-3-07.jpg - 14361 Bytes

To build positive capabilities in reading, parent(s) could read interesting books with him at night and involve him in choosing them. They can also help him transition from one activity to another with time limits and prompts. He appreciates having extra time to prepare to move to another activity.

Some knowledge of FAE would be helpful in discussing future services with Dereck's adoption worker, so be sure to ask. With a patient, nurturing single parent or couple who knows the value of involving youth in options and decisions, Dereck could achieve all of his dreams. His abstract sense of humor and desire to be loved are ingredients for success within the right family.

Dereck lives in Oregon. for more information, call the Idaho CareLine number, 1-800-926-2588. In Idaho you can dial 2-1-1.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544
Fax: 208-476-3407