Orofino,Idaho-Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology

Orofino voters return incumbent mayor, council members add Donner

City of Orofino voters returned their incumbent mayor and two council members while calling back a former council member Doug Donner during voting Tuesday.

Mayor Ryan Smathers received 376 votes, council members Josh Tilley and Jennifer Dunaway received 276 and 267, respectively. Donner had 205 votes. Other candidates and their totals were: Jon Isbelle, 198; Jim Hill, 155; and Gerald 'Guido' MacGuffie, 70.

Of the registered voters in Orofino, 1,359 or 36. 3 percent voted in this election.

School District

Greg Gerot received 114 votes over 94 for Sarah McGrath to win the Zone 1 trustee seat for Joint School District #171. Only 19.8 percent of the registered voters in the zone turned out.

Elk River

Diana Olson was the top vote getter in the Elk River City Council race with 43 and Tena Williams won the second spot with 36 votes. Richard Styre had 30 votes and Ricky Trott, 29. Registered voters in Elk River had a 72.6 percent turnout for the election.


Pierce voters cast 81 voters for Dominic Consentino who was running unopposed for mayor. The two four-year council seats will be filled by Michael Vaughn with 71 and John Simson with 65. The two two-year term seats will be filled by Kim Ward with 79 votes and Dennis McCollum with 68. All the candidates were running unopposed. In Pierce 34.4 percent of the registered voters cast ballots.


In Weippe, voters cast 30 ballots for Sheila Barteaux. Her city council term will be for four years. There was a 17.2 percent of registered voter turnout in Weippe.

Editor's note: These results are unofficial until canvassed by the Clearwater County Commissioners.

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544
Phone: (208) 476-0733
Fax: (208) 476-4140