Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:


Age: 14

"My name is Kelly and I am 14 years old. I am artistic and creative. I like to invent things and I love to sing. I think the perfect ideal family would understand me for me, like my desire to have piercings and tattoos. I want a fun family; people who are active. I am not sure I want other children, but it would be okay if there were other kids. I definitely don't want a lot of little kids running around because I like having moments alone. Every kid's dream is to have parents who will give them what they want whenever they want it, but I want parents who won't just give me things, but tell me that I have to earn it. I also want parents who will appreciate my talents."

Kelly is a one-of-a-kind girl who is proud of her uniqueness and likes to stand out in a crowd. Her goal in life is to become a tattoo artist, and she most definitely plans to add some tattoos as soon as she can. She is often described as creative and artistic, but Kelly is the epitome of those descriptors. She will create her own clothes and likes to invent things. She has multicolor glasses, which she proudly displays as her most recent creative design. Kelly sees things not just for what they are, but for what they could be, and she needs parents who can do the same for her.

Kelly longs to be known and accepted for who she is and not forced to mold to others' expectations. She is fun, often coming up with quips that will take you off-guard and leave you in fits of laughter. She is a delight and will thrive in a family who delights back in her. She is open to most family dynamics and feels that she would particularly thrive in a family with two dads, though she is definitely open to other family structures.

As she enters her formative adolescent and young adulthood years, she needs coaching and guidance, coupled with lots of patience and understanding. She will need coaching and encouragement to navigate peer relationships and stay focused in school, something that is admittedly not her greatest strength. Though every kid needs acceptance and grace, Kelly might need an extra dose, as you walk alongside her to help her integrate her past experiences with who she is becoming.

Kelly was born and raised in rural parts of North Idaho but could easily adjust to "city life." She does bring with her a love of horses, as well as a skill for riding. She is an adventure-seeker, most recently experiencing her first airplane ride. She has several birth family members in the North Idaho area with whom she desires to maintain relationships, most notably her brother and her grandparents.

Kelly is a joy and a delight. Her adoption team is looking for parents who can delight in her uniqueness and celebrate life with abandon, while gently guiding her through the oftentimes confusing years of adolescence. She will no doubt bring a smile to your face.

Portrait by Amy Henderson Photography

To find out more about Kelly, adoption or becoming a foster parent, email the Idaho CareLine (Please include your zip code and city.) or call 1-800-926-2588. You may be asked for reference number 30570.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Fax: 208-476-4140