Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:


Age: 15

"Hi, I'm Marissa. I'm nervous about doing Wednesday's Child, but here goes. I like to watch T.V., dance, ride my bike and swim. My friends and family call me a fish because I can stay in the water for days. People might describe me as funny, a little crazy and hyper, but nice. I don't like to see kids get bullied. I've experienced that myself. It can really make school not a great place to be when people are mean. I try to help out when I see someone being bullied.

Some of the things that have helped me survive the rough spots in my life are music, food, friends and animals. I love music and can listen to it 24/7. I also love food--enjoying it with family and eating together at the table. I want a close friend that I can trust--someone to talk to when family is annoying. :) I love animals like dogs--especially big ones. I can live with cats, too.

I would like to have parents who understand me and not judge me. I want a family that doesn't yell or raise their voices all the time. If you just talk to me calmly, I will work things out with you. And be honest with me. If you tell me you are going to do something, then stick to it. I've had a lot of disappointment in my life--being lied to or not showing up for visits. I was waiting there, looking through a window and nobody came. I don't want that in a family. Sometimes, when I'm scared to be in trouble, I lie. But then I will tell the truth an hour or two later. I will always eventually tell the truth. It's important to me that my family values honesty and shows that to me, too.

I think I would like to be the oldest child in a family and have younger brothers and sisters. I have been a city girl, but I also might like to live in the country or on a farm and work with animals...maybe earning money working with them. I've never ridden a horse. I look forward to that. I like camping and picnics and being outdoors.

Someday I would also like to fly in an airplane, go to Disney World, Disneyland, Lagoon, and fly in a hot air balloon. There's a lot I want to do in my life. But the first thing I want to do is to find my real father. I need a family that understands and doesn't feel threatened by that. It's part of who I am.

I would like to stay in contact with several adults who have helped me while I was in foster care, and my Uncle Timmy, too. My current foster mom has helped me be the person I am today. There are more, but those are the main ones. I want to be able to visit and talk to them as much as I can."

Marissa's adoption team is looking for a single mother or a steady couple with emotional maturity, but also the youthfulness that Marissa wants in her parents. Marissa said, "I understand that obviously parents will get older in life and that is fine with me, but just at the beginning, I want them to be young." If you are an active individual or couple that understands teenagers and traumatic childhoods, you may be a good match for Marissa.

This lovely fish out of water is ready for lots of swimming and other family fun. She could be a loving big sister if you have younger children. If you like sharing good food, good conversation, and time with your family around the dinner table, you already have much in common with Marissa. Please call the Idaho CareLine with information about your completed home study and get connected with her adoption team today! Marissa has "waited at that window" far too long. She's ready for parents who will build trust with honesty, consistency, emotional and physical safety, and unconditional love.

Portrait by Barb from Barb Bergeson Studio Gallery

To find out more about Marissa, adoption or becoming a foster parent, email the Idaho CareLine (Please include your zip code and city.) or call 1-800-926-2588. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30537.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Fax: 208-476-4140