Window on the Clearwater
Traditional news Today's technology
wednesdayhead.JPG - 4404 Bytes

Editor's Note: Window on the Clearwater has joined the Wednesday's Child network to help spread the word about children that are waiting for families to give them the loving care that they need. Each Wednesday we will profile a different child. For more information about Wednesday's Child and how you can be involved check the web site at:


Age: 16

"My name is Kesha. I like hanging out with friends, mostly walking around and talking. That's my favorite thing--talking and just spending time together. With family, I enjoy watching movies, family parties, barbecues...things like that. I'd like to go with family back to Portland. I loved seeing the ocean and aquarium there. That's part of why I really want to get into marine biology. I love the ocean and all the marine life in it. I had a great time at the Idaho Aquarium learning about all the marine life there. But if I don't do marine biology, I might enjoy zoology, phlebotomy, or forensic psychology. I also want to learn how to speak Philippine and Chinese.

I'm an artistic person and enjoy writing poems. I mostly write about my life experiences. A lot of them are sad, but it helps me cope with what I've been through. I enjoy language arts and computers at school, but I'm not a fan of math. And I love rap music--Eminem, Tupac, Biggie Smalls...all the big ones. I've recently been taking Zumba classes, which I've really enjoyed. I also do some Insanity workouts. It really tough.

If my friends were to describe me, they'd say that I was really supportive. I think that's the most important thing for friends, and especially family. It's important to have someone there for you to care about you and what you're doing in life. They get on you when you're not doing what you should and support you when you need it, because they care. That's what family should do, and it's what I do with my family and friends. I think it's so important."

Kesha is a wonderful teenager who is so much fun to be with and talk to. She's quiet and shy at first, but the more she gets to know you and gets comfortable, the more she'll talk and open up. She thrives on adult attention and can carry on conversations with adults with ease.

Her adoption team is looking for any kind of permanent placement for Kesha, even if it's a guardianship or mentor. She really wants to live with her family, but that's not currently an option. However, a strong support system is crucial for her. Kesha is having a bit of a hard time right now with the lack of support. While she enjoys her time spent with friends, she can also be easily misled, which can be a problem at times. A family environment with strong support and boundaries would be a huge help for Kesha, and one where she would thrive. She also needs parents who can be patient during those times when she may not take direction well.

More than anything, Kesha is looking to fit in somewhere and find her place. Her adoption worker loves spending time with Kesha and knows that the right family or situation will do amazing things for her confidence and sense of self. The adoption team is looking for a family that is willing to adopt, or even be a legal guardian for Kesha. Even a mentor who can keep in touch and help guide her into adulthood would be a big help. If you think you can be the family that Kesha needs, contact the Idaho CareLine now.

Portrait by Barb from Barb Bergeson Studio Gallery

To find out more about Kesha, adoption or becoming a foster parent, email the Idaho CareLine (Please include your zip code and city.) or call 1-800-926-2588. You may be asked to provide this reference number: 30532.

Wednesday's Child Archives...

Window on the Clearwater
P.O. Box 2444
Orofino, ID 83544

Orofino 476-0733
Fax: 208-476-4140